Narissa Butler

I like these paintings by Narissa Butler.

“I am often asked why I paint girls… each of my girls are a little bit of me and a little of what I see.

My first Girl painting appeared in 2002, which was inspired by a photograph of my mother as a child. I was taken with the innocence and awkwardness of the shot and intrigued as to what was going on behind that smile. Women are creatures of such complexity and I am drawn to the vulnerable and awkward. The contradictions of our feelings, how we express our feelings, on our faces and through our body language.

I began with simple poses and use of colour, in what I would describe as naive in expression, and perhaps even graphic in style. To me, my paintings express a sense of longing, of nostalgia, of something missing.

When the first Girl paintings appeared the response to them was overwhelming. I feel as though I am only beginning to reproduce the images I have in my head. Currently most of my girls appear to be heading toward adolescence, for most, a time of extreme self-awareness and awakening. As the Girls continue to grow and change from the earlier series, I have slowly incorporated small accompaniments such as butterflies and birds or chairs, and much to my delight they are still being received with much warmth and affection.”

Find it here: http://web.mac.com/deanris/Narissa_Butler

 

About imysam

I love design, colour, abstract, art, creating...

Leave a Reply

